Skip to content ↓

Religious & Moral Studies

Religious and Moral Studies (RMS)


Religious and moral studies takes a diverse and challenging look at the world religions and the impact belief has on a person’s life and values. Our aim is for all students to explore different cultures and gain an appreciation and understanding in order to combat discrimination and prejudice.


Key Stage 3 (Years 7 and 8)

In keeping with the Westgate 6 themes, Key Stage 3 students study a range of themes including creation stories, places of worship, religious figures and much more. Through this time they will explore the six major world religions whilst also investigating other cultures. They will be challenged to reflect on their own identity and beliefs whilst developing debating, analytical and evaluative skills.


Key Stage 4 (Years 9 and 10)

RMS is a compulsory GCSE and is offered through Years 9 and 10 with the AQA exam board.  The GCSE offers a comprehensive understanding in the study of Christianity and Buddhism. It covers a range of beliefs and practices to give a thorough consideration of the impact of belief on the lives of adherents. Further challenges are offered in consideration of non-religious and atheist worldviews. We cover several themes for example, family and relationships, crime and punishment, human rights and social justice. At each stage students are challenged to debate topics that are relevant in the media and in British society and consider the position a religious believer might take.